CHILDREN'S SERVICES COUNCIL OF BROWARD COUNTY

Truth In Millage (T.R.I.M.) Final Public Hearing

September 24, 2020

5:01 P.M.

Minutes

(This meeting was held by Zoom Webinar with public access by computer or phone)

Members in Attendance:

School Board Member Robin Bartleman; Governor Appointee Cathy Donnelly (Chair); Broward County Commissioner Beam Furr; Judge Kenneth L. Gillespie; Governor Appointee David H. Kenton; DCF Community Development Administrator Dawn Liberta; Governor Appointee Tom Powers; School Superintendent Robert W. Runcie; Governor Appointee Maria Schneider; Health Department Director Paula Thaqi; Governor Appointee Jeffrey S. Wood

Counsel Present:

Garry Johnson, Esq.

Staff in Attendance:

Cindy Arenberg Seltzer, President/CEO; Monti Larsen, COO; Sandra Bernard-Bastien; Maria Juarez; Sue Gallagher; Marlando Christie; Laura Ganci; Dion Smith; Nancy Cohn; Michelle Hamilton; Kathleen Campbell; Andrew Leone; Amy Jacques; Madeline Jones; Marissa Aquino; Gloria Putiak; Jennifer Wennberg; Kyle Jones; Megan Turetsky; Brooke Sherman; Marissa Greif-Hackett; Andria Dewson; Camila Romero; Carl Dasse; Meg Wallace; Piper Weber; Liza Khan; Lynn Kalmes; Erin Byrne; Joshua Caraballo; Pooja Yajnik; Karen Franceschini; Angie Buchter; Keisha Grey; Keyonia Lawson; Akil Edwards; Colleen Carpenter; Parry Silcox; Jill Denis-Lay; Danielle Bachelder; Jennifer Fletcher; Jeff Glover; Roxanne Smith; Michelle Hagues; Shawanda Spencer; Trisha Dowell; Cynthia Reynoso; Nelson Giraldo; Johnsingh Jeyasingh; Jessica Rincon; Katrina Welch; Adamma DuCille; Clarice Horton; Betty Dominguez; Judy Jones; Diego Alvarez; Yolanda Meadows; Travis Johnson

Guests in Attendance:

Alison Rodriguez (YMCA of South Florida), Michelle Rogers (Family Central/KIDs), Alice-Lydia Bird (YMCA of South Florida), Donna Lavalle (Smith Community Mental Health), Grace Ramos (The M Network), Lisa Clements (YMCA of South Florida), Andy Fernandez (Firewall Centers), Regine Kanzki (Crockett Foundation, Inc.), Gonzalo Cadima (United Way)

I. Millage Hearing

CSC Chair Cathy Donnelly called to order at 5:01 P.M. the final public hearing on the millage rate and budget for Fiscal Year 2020-2021.

The roll was called and a quorum was established.

Ms. Donnelly opened the public hearing for adoption of the final millage rate for FY 2020-2021. She read the final millage rate of 0.4882. Said millage rate is 4.61% increase over the roll-back rate.

Attorney Garry Johnson read Resolution 2020-03 by title only.

Ms. Donnelly opened the floor for comments from the public regarding the final millage rate. Hearing none, she closed the public comment period and opened the floor for comments from the Council members. There were no comments from the Council Members.

ACTION: Commissioner Furr made a motion to adopt the Resolution adopting the final millage rate of 0.4882 for Fiscal year 2020-2021. The motion was seconded by Ms. Bartleman. A roll call vote was conducted and the motion passed 9-1.

Robin Bartleman	Yes
Cathy Donnelly	Yes
Beam Furr	Yes
Kenneth Gillespie	Prohibited From Voting, Per Statute
David H. Kenton	Yes
Dawn Liberta	Yes

Tom Powers	No	
Robert W. Runcie	Yes	_
Maria Schneider	Yes	
Paula Thaqi	Yes	
Jeffrey S. Wood	Yes	

II. Budget Hearing

Ms. Donnelly opened the public hearing for adoption of the final budget for Fiscal Year 2020-2021.

Attorney Garry Johnson read Resolution 2020-04, by title only, adopting the final budget for Fiscal Year 2020-2021.

Ms. Donnelly opened the floor for comments from the public regarding the final budget. Hearing none, she closed the public comment period and opened the floor for comments from the Council Members. There were no comments from the Council Members.

ACTION: Commissioner Furr made a motion to adopt the Resolution adopting the final budget for Fiscal Year 2020-2021. The motion was seconded by Ms. Liberta. A roll call vote was conducted and the motion passed 10-1.

Robin Bartleman	Yes
Cathy Donnelly	Yes
Beam Furr	Yes
Kenneth Gillespie	Yes
David H. Kenton	Yes
Dawn Liberta	Yes
Tom Powers	No
Robert W. Runcie	Yes
Maria Schneider	Yes

3

Paula Thaqi	Yes	
Jeffrey S. Wood	Yes	

III. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 5:07pm.

Kenneth L. Gillespie, Secretary