CHILDREN'S SERVICES COUNCIL OF BROWARD COUNTY

Truth In Millage (T.R.I.M.) First Public Hearing

September 8, 2020

5:30 P.M.

Minutes

(This meeting was held by Zoom Webinar with public access by computer or phone)

Members in Attendance:

School Board Member Robin Bartleman; Governor Appointee Cathy Donnelly (Chair); Broward County Commissioner Beam Furr; Judge Kenneth L. Gillespie; Governor Appointee David H. Kenton; DCF Community Development Administrator Dawn Liberta; Governor Appointee Tom Powers; School Superintendent Robert W. Runcie; Governor Appointee Maria Schneider; Health Department Director Paula Thaqi; Governor Appointee Jeffrey S. Wood

Counsel Present:

Garry Johnson, Esq.

Staff in Attendance:

Cindy Arenberg Seltzer, President/CEO; Monti Larsen, COO; Sandra Bernard-Bastien; Maria Juarez; Sue Gallagher; Marlando Christie; Laura Ganci; Dion Smith; Nancy Cohn; Michelle Hamilton; Kathleen Campbell; Amy Jacques; Alexandra Lemoine; Madeline Jones; Marissa Aquino; Gloria Putiak; Jennifer Wennberg; Kyle Jones; Megan Turetsky; Brooke Sherman; Marissa Greif-Hackett; Andria Dewson; Camila Romero; Latora Steel; Carl Dasse; Meg Wallace; Piper Weber; Liza Khan; Lynn Kalmes; Erin Byrne; Joshua Caraballo; Pooja Yajnik; Karen Franceschini; Ileana Blanco; Kimberlee Reid; Angie Buchter; Keisha Grey; Keyonia Lawson; Akil Edwards; Melissa Soza; Seantee Campbell; Colleen Carpenter; Parry Silcox; Jocelin Eubanks; Jill Denis-Lay; Danielle Bachelder; Alexia Bridges; Maxine Goldson; Mina Razavi; Aisha Castleberry; Jennifer Fletcher; Silke Angulo; Valencia McConnico-Bell; Nicolette Picardi; Jeff Glover

Guests in Attendance:

Karen Swartzbaugh Ghezzi (Chair, Broward County Children's Services Board), Regine Kanzki (Crockett Foundation)

I. Millage Hearing

CSC Chair Cathy Donnelly called to order at 5:30 P.M. the first public hearing on the proposed millage rate and tentative budget for Fiscal Year 2020-2021.

The roll was called and a quorum was established.

Ms. Donnelly opened the public hearing for adoption of the proposed millage rate for FY 2020-2021. She read the proposed millage rate of 0.4882. Said millage rate is 4.61% increase over the roll-back rate.

Attorney Garry Johnson read Resolution 2020-01 by title only.

Ms. Donnelly opened the floor for comments from the public regarding the tentative millage rate. Hearing none, she closed the public comment period and opened the floor for comments from the Council members. There were no comments from the Council Members.

ACTION: Commissioner Furr made a motion to adopt the Resolution adopting the proposed millage rate of 0.4882 for Fiscal year 2020-2021. The motion was seconded by Ms. Schneider. A roll call vote was conducted and the motion passed 9-1.

| Robin Bartleman | Yes |
|-------------------|--|
| Cathy Donnelly | Yes |
| Beam Furr | Yes |
| Kenneth Gillespie | Prohibited From Voting, Per Statute |
| David H. Kenton | Yes |
| Dawn Liberta | Yes |
| Tom Powers | No |
| Robert W. Runcie | Yes |
| Maria Schneider | Yes |
| Paula Thaqi | Yes |
| Jeffrey S. Wood | Yes |

II. Budget Hearing

Ms. Donnelly opened the public hearing for adoption of the tentative budget for Fiscal Year 2020-2021.

Attorney Garry Johnson read Resolution 2020-02, by title only, adopting the tentative budget for Fiscal Year 2020-2021.

Ms. Donnelly opened the floor for comments from the public regarding the tentative budget. Hearing none, she closed the public comment period and opened the floor for comments from the Council Members. There were no comments from the Council Members.

ACTION: Commissioner Furr made a motion to adopt the Resolution adopting the tentative budget for Fiscal Year 2020-2021. The motion was seconded by Ms. Bartleman. A roll call vote was conducted and the motion passed 10-1.

| Robin Bartleman | Yes |
|-------------------|-----|
| Cathy Donnelly | Yes |
| Beam Furr | Yes |
| Kenneth Gillespie | Yes |
| David H. Kenton | Yes |
| Dawn Liberta | Yes |
| Tom Powers | No |
| Robert W. Runcie | Yes |
| Maria Schneider | Yes |
| Paula Thaqi | Yes |
| Jeffrey S. Wood | Yes |

III. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 5:36pm.

Kenneth L. Gillespie, Secretary